The Benchland Water District will hold an election on November 7, 2023 to elect the following offices:(This has changed to November 21, 2023)

Three (3) Board of Trustees Members

The Candidate filing period is between June 1, 2023 thru June 7, 2023, Monday through Friday, except weekends and holidays.  A Declaration of Candidacy must be filed in person from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm at 485 East Shepard Lane, Kaysville, Utah  84037

Candidates must meet the following qualifications:

  • Registered Voter in the municipality in which the individual is elected
  • Must have resided within the municipality for which the candidate is seeking office for the 12 consecutive months immediately before the date of the election.
  • If the individual resides in a territory that was annexed  into the municipality: must have resided within the annexed territory or the municipality the 12 consecutive months immediately before the date of the election.
  • Pay filing fee, if one is required by municipal ordinance.
  • Not convicted of a felony


The Benchland Water District provides irrigation service to much of Farmington, parts of Kaysville and Fruit Heights and to adjacent areas of unincorporated Davis County.  The District is governed by a board of seven (7) Trustees that serve four-year terms of office.  At the present time those serving as Trustees are Chairman Paul White, Vice Chairman To be determined, Brad Bornemeier, Paul Hirst, Judy Rice, Justen Smith, Kenneth Spencer and Jim Taylor.

Responsibilities of Trustees as a participant of the elected seven member Board of Trustees of the Benchland Water District are as follows:

  1.  Attend the regularly scheduled and specially called Benchland Board of Trustee Meetings.  Attendance Policy: Miss no more than two (2) consecutive meetings.
  2.  Set and approve District Policy, set and approve District Budget and expenditures, and oversee the District Management.

Qualifications for Candidacy are as follows:

  • Be a United States Citizen
  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Be a resident of the Benchland Water District.
  • Be a registered voter of the Benchland Water District.
  • Candidate cannot be an employee of the Benchland Water District.



Current Board of Trustees are as follows:

Name                                     Present Term of Office

Kenneth Spencer             January 1, 2024   thru     December 31, 2027              
Paul Hirst                         January 1, 2024   thru     December 31, 2027
Brad Bornemeier             January 1, 2024   thru     December 31, 2027

Paul White                       January 1, 2022   thru     December 31, 2025

Judy Rice                        January 1, 2022     thru     December 31, 2025
Justen Smith                   January 1, 2022      thru     December 31, 2025
Jim Taylor                       January 1 2022      thru     December 31, 2025